It is time!

Three years ago a plan was hatched amongst a father, a son and a friend to fulfill a dream and journey to the home of golf, St. Andrews Scotland. Today I sit in front of my computer at home alone and thinking , for the dream comes true tomorrow.

It is finally here and I still just cant believe its about to happen. Since that day back in July of 2010 when we made the decision to go I can honestly say that there has not been a single day thats gone by that this trip has not been on my mind. Some days it may have been a simple passing thought, on others it amounted to hours of thought.   Believe me though, I was never far from it. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Now there’s no more calendar peeking. No more countdowns. No more planning. Tomorrow I board a plane, cross the pond, get in a car and then amazingly find myself in a place that since I was a kid hooked on golf I’ve only seen on a tv screen, or in pictures.  Saturday afternoon I pull into St. Andrews Scotland and will see The Old Course in person for the very first time. Pinch me now. I plan to get very emotional because it will be. Thats just how I roll. Real men do shed tears. For a golfer this moment is as good as it gets. Standing on the hallowed ground of the Old Course and looking out over its stunning seaside links and setting is an image that will forever be etched in my mind. Oh sure the one, two or ninety seven pictures I take and endless minutes of video shot should help too. Lol.  Why you wouldn’t? Standing there I will surely be swept away by the beauty of this magical place. It gets better though. Taking in that view I’ll anxiously start to think about Friday June 7’th at 11:40am when I get to step  to the first tee and strike my own tee shot down the first to begin what’s sure to be the most incredible round of golf I have ever played.  Hands down. Please God let me find the middle of the fairway.

But before that round there is a lot of other golf to be played and lots of sights to be seen. Along the way maybe even a few drinks to be consumed as well. At least one or two….or ninety seven.  🙂

I’ll keep you all posted.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

